2016 Retrospective: Wherein I am Bad at Blogging

Posted: January 6, 2017 in News
Tags: ,

2016 has finally crawled across the finish line. I can’t say it’s been an especially bad year for me altogether (certainly by the standards of 2016) but one place I certainly failed to live up to expectations was in keeping this blog up to date. That’s not to say that I haven’t worked on or completed any hobby projects, but what I have done never made it here. I was especially bad at taking pictures of WiP or even completed works. The way I had been doing things required a fair bit of rearranging lights, equipment, etc. in order to take acceptable photos, so really I ended up just not bothering.

The good news is I’ve figured out some improvements that make taking quick pictures of finished miniatures quite a bit easier. I have a new background that I can just lay down on the workbench under the lighting I already have there, and take photos with a minimum of setup and takedown required. I’ve gone back and photographed all the stuff I’ve finished over the course of the year and I’m pretty happy with the results – you’ll be seeing those over the next couple of weeks.

So what did I do with 2016? Mostly painted Orks. The army is really coming together now and I’m super happy with how it looks all together on the table. Speaking of which, I’ve now actually played 40k again… and it’s fun! I feel our choice to go back to 4th Edition was a wise one – I’m very happy to stay off the GW treadmill of releases and be able to look at what’s on the horizon with a certain level of detachment. I’ll have some photos from a couple of our games ready to go in the next couple days.

With a few games under our belts, my opponents are already wrapping up collections and planning new expansions or whole armies (while I still have a million orks to go…) so I think 40k will remain alive with us for at least a while down the road. The million orks haven’t stopped me from dreaming up some new plans of my own, either…

With a bit of content now stored up and ready to go, I’m hoping to do better at keeping things up to date here in 2017. At least I can’t really mess up too badly right out of the gate. And of course, I’m not going to leave you without showing off at least one pic:

Is dere sumfing behind me?

Is dere sumfing behind me?

Happy New Year!

Cheers,

-Chris

Leave a Reply

