Return of the Ork Project

Posted: November 2, 2015 in 40k
Tags: , , ,

I’m sorry – I’ve been neglecting the blog for too long. I’m back, starting with some more 40k…

The ork project has changed character a bit since I started working on the Bommer. Near the end of the summer an old friend of mine mentioned that he had been looking at getting back into 40k. I approached this with some trepidation, which means that I was like “well I have all these models still lying around so I guess I could get in on that without a whole lot of investment”. I am told this is referred to as “enabling”, which kinda seems like BS but whatever…

So yeah, a couple of friends and I have been working away at 40k again, which I don’t think I’ve really done since high school. The key thing for me here is that we’re not looking at the current edition for rules – the plan is to go back to 4th Edition, which was we last played before we all put the game down. I think there’s still a lot of interesting game space there that we never explored, and while there are some really neat rules added in later editions (such as overwatch before assaults, running, and expansion of psychic powers) they also started tacking on more and more stuff that I really don’t want to deal with. The game has continued to scale up (literally) with all sorts of flyers, giant robots and ridiculous detachment rules that hand out bonuses for free, on top of a system that now seems to think that “randomize EVERYTHING” is the best way to go.

Primarily, the last thing I want is back on the Games Workshop treadmill – the structure of the rules and years of over-the-top price increases make that even less sustainable than it was back in the day. But to be honest, I have missed 40k. It was one of the big entry points to this hobby (and industry) for me and something that we had a lot of fun with back in the day, so I hope we can capture a little bit of the magic I remember while still dodging the thousand-ton merch monster that is GW.

Anyway, back to orks. As I mentioned, thanks to my earlier collecting of bits and pieces of an ork army just because I thought they looked cool, I already owned much of what I’d need to build a playable force. The Bommer looks really cool but I never wanted or intended to use it in a game, so I’ve put it on hold while I start work on the more practical elements.

My first Ork conversion, nearly finished.

Converted trukk, nearly finished.

I am really happy with how this came out.

I am really happy with how this came out.

My planned collection will be largely mechanized, since Speed Freeks are basically Mad Max with giant angry green guys (awesome) and it helps keep the sheer number of boys I have to paint a bit more manageable. As you can see above, I’m still working on construction of most of the vehicles, but I’ve already got a start on some of da boyz:

I may change the colors on the bases slightly - so far these are the first boyz "finished"

I may change the colors on the bases slightly – so far these are the first boyz “finished”

The paint scheme seems to be working well so far and I think I’ve struck a decent balance between level of detail and simplicity for the sake of getting stuff done. We’ll see how that holds up against the horde of models I have to paint, especially considering that one of my buddies in on this 40k plan is doing Deathwing and is already halfway done his army…

The first batch of Nobs - this is the first time using Citadel's amusingly named blood effect paint - I quite like it

The first batch of Nobs – I hadn’t tried Citadel’s amusingly named blood effect paint before. I’m quite impressed with the result!

I’ll have some more information about my painting plan and color scheme in an upcoming post. I’m quite pleased with the results so far and I’m looking ahead to figure out the best way to adapt it to the vehicles I’ve been building.

The horde so far - the painting is all done, now for the bases...

The horde so far. The paint on these is done, now for the bases…

More details on casting and new building designs are in the pipeline too – thanks for reading and thanks for sticking with me!

Cheers,

-Chris

Leave a Reply

