Painting Projects: Back on Track

Posted: April 30, 2015 in 40k, News
Tags: , , ,

Unsurprisingly, the last year has been a bit of a roller coaster. While casting and Kickstarter definitely took up lots of my time, the biggest factor has been returning to school. I had honestly forgotten how much raw time and effort it ate up, and as a consequence I haven’t had time to pick up a paintbrush in months. But no more!

With the Wasteland Game Studio webstore now online, this blog will be moving back towards its original purpose – featuring more articles and photos of some of my painting projects (stuff about buildings and casting projects will still show up, but important announcements will be made on the new store front page for maximum visibility).

So here’s a work-in-progress look at one of my new projects I’m working on this summer…

I haven’t played 40k in forever but I’ve always liked the aesthetic of Ork models, especially their ramshackle vehicles. It’s like Mad Max with giant angry green guys! Last year I started gathering up stuff from the range that I really liked the look of, just to paint for fun. I was able to get some good deals through trades and by splitting up some of the “collection” boxed sets that Games Workshop has done (which are a remarkably good deal, coming from them…) and when I stopped to take stock I realized I had almost an entire army lying around. I don’t expect to ever use them on the tabletop, but I’m excited to see them all painted up in my display cabinet.

40k_bommer1

The bommer here was one of the first pieces I picked up, and it’s a really nice kit. Well-designed, goes together well and lots of options and Orky charm. I painted most of the pilot a while ago, but all the rest of the work has been done in the last week.

I wanted to use red as my main color, but I’m not sure I like the look of the usual bright, strong red with the green Ork skin. I settled on a dark, rusty shade with lots of brown that I think goes really well with the bashed-together Ork technology. I’m not sure if it will leave me enough contrast to make corroded areas stand out, but I can push those into a brighter orange color so I think it will work.

I started with a base of Vallejo Surface Primer in German Red Brown, applied via airbrush. Unfortunately I had some adhesion problems once I started masking so I have some chips I’ll need to go back and do something about – in the future, I’ll try using a spraycan primer as a base layer, which seems to give a more durable surface. The red areas were then covered with a deliberately patchy coat of Model Air Rust. Most of the metallic areas have been basecoated by hand using Model Air Black Metal.

40k_bommer2

The black-and-white patterns typical on Ork equipment look really good on this base color. Inspired(?) by the pain in the ass that was painting invasion stripes on my Flames of War AOP back in the day, I decided to go with a similar pattern here. I roughly trimmed the edge of the masking tape before applying it. The stripes are a lot easier to paint when it doesn’t matter if they’re straight or even!

In keeping with the worn-out aesthetic, I didn’t use pure white. Instead, Model Air White Grey was airbrushed onto the masked-off area. Once dry, I masked off each side and applied black in the center to complete the pattern.

40k_bommer3

I’m quite pleased with how the pilot and gunner turned out. The sculpts are dripping with character and I’m looking forward to working on some of the Ork foot troops.

This is the first full project I’ve used my airbrush on and so far it’s been a lot of fun. I’ve been watching a bunch of painting videos on YouTube which have inspired me to try out some other new techniques on this model, such as oil-based washes. I hope you’ll stay tuned and see what results!

Thanks for reading!

-Chris

Leave a Reply

