Production Update #2

Posted: April 29, 2014 in News
Tags: , , ,

Today marks the arrival of the last batch of 3-D printed parts. I’m happy to say that they’ve come out looking really good and I’m already at work getting them cleaned up and ready for casting. Mike and I will be going back into the studio next week, and we should be coming back with lots of individual molds for new parts as well as another batch of production-scale molds. Casting with the existing molds is ongoing, and the results have been good – with fewer miscasts than I had estimated.

production2-1

One of my equipment suppliers has managed to track down one of the last tools I needed (for cutting the corner columns) and the raw materials for the columns is now on order. My employer at Sentry Box has generously lent me a bunch of modular shelving, so I’ve got lots of room for demolded parts to cure.

I’m pretty psyched to have all these parts in hand, and I can’t wait to get all the molds up and running. Expect another update in the next week or two as I get set to ramp up production.

Cheers,

-Chris

Leave a Reply

