Work in Progress: Flames of War Heavy Tanks

Posted: December 15, 2013 in Flames of War
Tags: , , ,

While my terrain design project has certainly distracted me, I’ve still been making some slow but steady progress on more Flames of War. Like the Panzer III these are models that I love the look of, but wouldn’t spend the time and money to build a whole new army around – I’m just doing these for fun, and to look cool in my display case. I have a bunch of different vehicles in the pipeline already, but these two are the farthest along:

fow_tiger_wip1

This is actually the first of a platoon of four Tiger Is, a project I had planned to have done in November for a Tanksgiving event that sadly didn’t materialize. This is the furthest along of the bunch – dullcote and weathering are the only two major steps remaining. The model itself is from Plastic Soldier Company, and while I’ve been quite impressed with the other sets of theirs I’ve tried, the Tiger box is probably my favorite yet. Fantastic in terms of finish, detail and ease of assembly, with lots of options too. The only change I made was to shorten the pegs holding the outer roadwheel components to make the tracks “stick out” more. This looks more correct to me, but when I did a bit of research during the build I saw pictures of Tigers with quite a bit of variation on how far the tracks stuck out (possibly some were still using the narrower tracks used during long-distance transport?) so as far as I can tell neither answer is wrong. Now I just need to get the other three caught up to this one…

fow_IS2_wip1

This is a more traditional resin and metal miniature – Battlefront’s IS-2 obr. 1944. I love the look of a lot of the Russian heavy tanks and assault guns – hulking slabs of steel with truly massive guns. This one is almost as far along as the Tiger, despite being started more recently. I’m going to be adding some of the prominent white recognition stripes on the turret seen on Soviet vehicles right near the end of the war and the Battle of Berlin in particular.

And in Epic news, I recommend you take a look at some of Troublemaker Games latest work on their second Indiegogo campaign – they’re adding a bunch of stuff that helps fill in some of the gaps left behind in the Epic range. It’s running for a few more days and I’m trying to avoid being tempted into pledging more – there’s more that I want but paying in Pounds isn’t helping my wallet.

Thanks for reading!

-Chris

Comments
  1. 40kterminatus says:

    Nice looking Tiger. I think all Tigers had two types of tracks, combat(wide) and transport(narrow) tracks. Also there are two types of wheels(rubber and steel) and the steel wheels did not have an outermost row of road wheels. Hope this helps or your now completely confused,lol

  2. Nope, I’ve done my research :D
    The Plastic Soldier kit includes separate pieces for the later pressed-steel road wheels, but those started to be used later into ’44 so aren’t suitable for the period I’ve modeled. The kits includes lots of options and the detail is such that you can actually pin down the era quite closely. The ones I have here are most accurate for Tigers built between July and September 1943, after the introduction of the revised turret but before the application of zimmerit anti-mine coating.

Leave a Reply

