3D Stuff: New Turret Renders

Posted: July 12, 2013 in News
Tags: ,

cruiser_turretscollection2

Here we have a brief overview of some of the new parts I’ve been working on. These turrets are designed to work with the hull from the Cruiser Light Tank from Dark Realm Miniatures (the hulls used in the render image are just mockups I slapped together). I may do a custom hull of my own later, but for now I’ve just done the turrets to represent the vehicles in the Epic Imperial Guard range I’d like to use.

Some of these will hopefully be suitable for casting – the artillery pieces for example are designed with the gun/rockets as separate pieces. Some I may just need to use the 3D-printed turrets directly (I have no idea how to cast the AA turret). Fortunately for many of these I would only need three to complete a unit so hopefully the per-unit cost will be relatively low.

On a related note, I’ve received the first prototype from Shapeways for my Main Battle Tank design! It’s pretty cool to see something that only existed digitally transformed in all its tiny tank glory. Unfortunately the model suffered from some technical issues on the printer’s side so the company is reprinting the design for me – hopefully once the new one arrives I’ll have some pictures for you. In the meantime, having this printed example has shown me a lot about how my designs translate to real objects and I’m already at work on an updated model. Some of the detail needs to be a bit bulkier in order to look ‘correct’ on a 6mm-scale miniature.

Thanks for reading!

-Chris

Leave a Reply

